Featured, Game Music

The 12th Annual G.A.N.G. Award Winners Have Been Announced

March 26, 2014 | | Comment? Share thison Facebook The 12th Annual G.A.N.G. Award Winners Have Been Announcedon Twitter

During this past week’s Game Developer’s Conference the Game Audio Network Guild (G.A.N.G.) held the 12th annual G.A.N.G. Awards. These awards focus on the audio and music produced in games during the previous year. The guild also takes this time to honor and recognize important figures in the game audio industry. This year’s 12th annual awards were recorded and will be broadcast on the Video Games Live Twitch channel at a later date. For those of you who can’t wait, the winners have been announced. Read on to find out who this year’s winners were.

There were some clear leaders this year. The Last of Us came away with four awards and Bioshock Infinite left with three. There was also a tie for Best Original Soundtrack Album between Halo: Spartan Assault and Beyond Two Souls.

Here is the full list of this year’s G.A.N.G. Award Winners:

Music of the Year Bioshock Infinite
Best Original Soundtrack Album – (Tie) Beyond Two Souls and Halo: Spartan Assault
Audio of the YearThe Last of Us
Sound Design of the YearThe Last of Us
Best Original Instrumental – “Lighter Than Air” from Bioshock Infinite
Best Original Song Choral – “Dieses Herz” from Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs
Best Use of Licensed Music Bioshock Infinite
Best Interactive ScorePeggle 2
Best Handheld AudioTearaway
Best Audio in a Casual/Indie/Social GamePeggle 2
Best Original Vocal Song: Pop – “Orchid’s Theme” from Killer Instinct
Best Audio MixThe Last of Us
Best Game Audio Article, Publication or Broadcast – GDC Boot Camp XII
Best Cinematic Cutscene AudioStarcraft II: Heart of the Swarm
Best DialogueThe Last of Us
G.A.N.G. Lifetime Achievement Award – David Warhol
G.A.N.G. Distinguished Service Award – Andrew Kane
G.A.N.G. Recognition Award – Eugene Jarvis
G.A.N.G. Ambassador Award – Brandon Cole
G.A.N.G. Student/Apprentice Award: Music – PJ Tracy
G.A.N.G. Student/Apprentice Award: Sound Design – Andrew Villa.

A list of the original nominees can be found on the G.A.N.G. Website, as well as the list of winners. As previously mentioned, there will be a broadcast of the awards ceremony on Twitch TV at a later date. Be sure to follow the channel and check that out when it airs. What do you think of this year’s winners? Do you agree with the results from this year’s awards? Let us know in the comments below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

« Next Post

Previous Post »

More like this Post